warming my xd

I went out in the snow to try out my new LaserLyte Rear Sight Laser for my XD.

Even with all the hot air coming out of Copenhagen, Washington and Hollywood, the ice is barely melting here in sunny Arizona.

I had to shoot in the shade of a tree to see the laser. It works well but I think I need to have my sights aligned. I wasn’t sure if it was my aim that the rounds tended to fall low and to the right. With the laser I can always put it close to where I aim. I will take up the offer from the gun shop to sight it for me. I spent over $300 there, also purchasing a ProMag 20 round magazine.

Unfortunately my pistol misfired several times. That never happened before. It could have been the ammo. I started shooting with Winchester and had no problems using the new 20 round mag and my 16 round mag. Then I loaded some Federal (from Walmart) and I started getting jams, and when the mag emptied the slide didn’t open.

This is strange because I’ve shot nearly 500 rounds of Federal ammo with only one or two times when I pulled the trigger, nothing happened.

I cleaned off the nasty carbon emissions in the pistol, and will try again when the weather clears (unless the liberals stop the warming). Then I will write further on the laser and it’s awesomeness.
Update: 1/4/10

Went to my spot in the mountains today. The laser works great. I don’t have to aim at all. I can shoot even more accurate from the low ready position.

Without the laser my handling of the pistol is getting better. I was either gripping too tight or using too much finger. I’m feelin’ it and ready for action.

I experimented with ammo and again found that the 20 round mag does not work well with the cheap stuff. It works alright in the 16 round mag that comes with the XD. I’ll use it up for target practice and stick with the better stuff (my carry load is Magtech since it was the most expensive).

It was good experience dealing with jams. It’s not a big deal. Putting a little extra oil in the winter time seemed the right thing to do. The cold making it evaporate faster.

3 Responses to “warming my xd”

  1. you might want to do some checking on that low-to-the-right thing.

    If I remember right, that sounds like a handeling issue. There are some sites that have a handy …pie target.. that has common problems where your rounds fall.

    off hand, I think you’ll find one on Xavierthoughts at blogger.com (he’s on my blogroll).
    You may have to search for it though.

  2. Yeah, I think it could be too much finger on the trigger, not breathing and pulling instead of letting it happen. I can do it right, but I still have to think about all that stuff. The jamming threw me off too.

    I always appreciate the tips.

    With the laser who needs sites! I can tuck in my elbow as you suggested, and shoot from the hip. (half joking)

    Merry Christmas KP and the entire clan!

Leave a Reply

