liberty chief “miroku”

This 38 Special belonged to my father. It’s called the Liberty Chief “Miroku.” With a 2 inch barrel, it’s small revolver that was made in Japan. It’s what a Japanese Detective in the 1960s might of carried. It has been passed along to me. Tomorrow I will try it out. If I like the double action pistol, I’ll keep it for now. If not, I will see if I can trade it for a semi-auto 45. It’s not worth much, but I also have a very good microphone to trade. The rounds are bigger than the 9mm I’ve been shooting. I’m moving in the right direction – towards those fat boys (45 cal).

It came with the original box. In the box was a Safety Inspection Certificate my father got in 1968. You needed this in Michigan at the time, I guess. It’s cool because it has his finger print and description.

Update:

It shoots fine but my aim is much better with my 😄 9. I only had a few hollow point rounds that I didn’t want to waste. I’ll probably try it again before I sell or trade it. You serious shooters probably only need six shots. At six, I’m just getting started. The FNP 45, with it’s 14 round mag, seems just right.

8 Responses to “liberty chief “miroku””

  1. Interesting. I just picked one up, mostly out of curiosity as a collectable. I thought it was a Colt when I first saw it. From what I’ve read, they were produced for the Japanese police force after WWII, but the Japanese police adopted a different gun, and these were mainly exported to the US where there were sold as Liberty Chiefs and under the EIG name. It’s sort of a Colt/S&W hybrid, with a COlt type cylinder latch and overall styling, and early S&W lockworks.

    • rob blair Says:

      are you going to be selling your 38. i have one and would like to buy another for parts . thanks for time

  2. Thanks Mike.

    I had to sell it last year. I didn’t get much for it. My father must of had a better 38. My mother kept that one.

  3. Phillip McLellan Says:

    I have a Liberty Chief and I also thought it was a colt or S&W. I guess the problem with it is finding parts. I guess anyone owning one is having problems with the cylinder rotation. As long as the wepon is held in a level or downward position the cylinder works fine, but if you hold the gun with the barrel pointing up the cylinder will not turn. If anyone knows where to find a spring for it please let me know. Thanks

  4. Richard Sheppard Says:

    I have one my father used when he had a security job. I took it apart and insides flew out.. I lost the lever that rotates the cylinder and holds it in position. Know where I can get one?

  5. Hey there, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Opera, it
    looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.

    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, amazing
    blog!

  6. This is a topic which is close to my heart.
    .. Cheers! Where are your contact details though?

Leave a Reply

