hitch a ride home

I’ve never been that smart. I would read and listen to whatever seemed brilliant and hope that some of it would rub off.

I didn’t take intellectual direction from my father. He did periodically give me interesting books to read. But he was an enigma wrapped in a riddle of cream cheese and lox (on a toasted bagel).

Painfully I watched some of Christopher Hitchens’ interview with Anderson Vanderbelt. Curious about the rumors that the great writer had dropped his professional Atheism due to his life threatning illness. Apparently not.

I’ve got no horse in that race. It would be too story book if it were true. Hitchens has such intellect and writing ability, he rises Saint-like above all but a few others. He will live forever through his written and spoken words. The Artist does possess God-like powers. In a Godless World, Hitchens found his powers increased.

Not interested in his tome for Atheism, I still return to my copy of “Love, Poverty, and War” for knowledge and contemplation.

If I prayed, I would pray for him. He seemed to feel that many were praying for his death. I would think only some Muslims, not God fearing people.

Hitchens has thrown his intellectual weight into the battle for the West. Like his ancestors, a soldier. But with the pen not the sword. There is no replacing the testy thinker many have come to admire. Even those who sometimes disagree with him.

His stance for Human Rights certainly places him in God’s Sphere. Does it matter that he warns that if he starts professing belief, it’s the illness speaking? Some delusions are important. That’s something I learned from Christopher Hitchens in his essay on Churchill.

He can take God like a drug. We will not judge or love him less.

Leave a Reply

