voices in the night

Caller to the radio show Coast to Coast:

“In 2004, a ghost (the first causality in Operation Iraqi Freedom) inhabited me. He was killed in an accident while loading a C-130 cargo plane.”

“The Spirit took me to the battlefield where US Troops were waiting for the invasion of Iraq. I was among his unit as we tested and retested our gasmasks and protective clothing. We were expecting a chemical or biological attack from Saddam.”

George: “You mean you were one of the troops?”

Caller: “Yes”

George: “Are you in the Service, or are you a Veteran?”

Caller: “No. I’m an Conceptual Artist. And before this happened, I always opposed US military action of any kind, like everyone in Soho.”

“But this time was different.”

“I had helped raise money for for Amnesty International. They had documented much of the horror of the Saddam Hussein regime. His ghosts also spoke to me.

My neighborhood was nearly destroyed in 9/11, and people I knew were incinerated that day. Saddam played a big role in the jihadist movement throughout the world, and his goal was to lead the Islamic Nation. All this justified his removal from power.”

George: “Your ghost, what happened to him?”

Caller: “He left me there with his unit. I hung around. It was boring most of the time. The men had trained well and now they could only wait. Finally they took off towards Baghdad. It all went smoothly until the unit met up with the dreaded fedayeen who were lying in wait.”

“Not a trained soldier, this was too much to handle (even though the large rifle rounds passed right through me). The last thing I saw was Private Rollins go down.”

“My spirit guide then spoke to me.”

Spirit: “You will leave us now. I must be with Rollins. We will be fine.”

Caller: “Why did you show me this?”

Spirit: “Do you think you can make some art from this experience?”

Caller: “Why?”

Spirit: “We are bored with American Culture. Both high and low.”

“The artists have let us down. We died to give you the space to create. I was not that special…only to my family. But near by me up here, is guy who saved many lives by his heroic actions. He gave his own life to save his fellow Navy Seals.”

“Why did he do it? For Reality TV and recycled Disco?”

George: “I like Disco. Maybe it wasn’t a ghost, it was an alien? I have one living in my attic. Thanks for calling, next we’ll speak to a woman who says she used to date an Orthodox Jew who claimed he was an alien. Her book ‘Matsah 51’ next.”

Leave a Reply

